Flavors of Fall

Thanks to Christopher Columbus, I had Monday off work and enjoyed a relaxing day during a very hectic few months of work. One of my favorite things to do is bake — not just because I have an insatiable sweet tooth, but because I find it therapeutic. Baking relaxes me and stretches my creativity in a unique way. I love experimenting with new recipes, as well as rolling out old favorites. I’m always amazed how you can create something so tasty from basic ingredients. There’s an “art” to baking that I very much appreciate. In fact, I have lofty dreams of creating my own bakery and spending all day making sweet treats.

Since I moved to New York, I haven’t dabbled in any baking, and I’ve missed it! I’ve been getting adjusted to a new city and a new apartment. And honestly, many recipes call for a long list of ingredients that are difficult to track down in one store and carry home. Restocking a kitchen with ingredients and baking pans also adds up in dollars very quickly!

So, on my day off, I decided to pick a few recipes that didn’t require a lengthy list of ingredients but that would still bring me joy in the kitchen. If you’re looking for a very easy but delicious “Fall” recipe, I have a few recommendations:

Pumpkin Muffins
Ingredients:
1 box of white cake mix
1 can of pumpkin (15 oz.)
1 dash of cinnamon (optional)

Really! That’s all! No added oil, eggs, or water. This is one of the easiest (while also being delicious) recipes I’ve ever come across. Blend the dry cake mix with the can of pumpkin until smooth, like cake batter. Sprinkle in some cinnamon for added flavor. Fill cupcake liners about 2/3 full and bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

Apple Dip
Ingredients:
1 small tub of non-fat vanilla or plain Greek yogurt
1 tablespoon of peanut butter
1 tablespoon of honey
1 dash of cinnamon
1 apple, sliced

When I was on my grocery shopping spree, I grabbed a sack of gala apples. I have been making my way through the bag, but this dip varied things up a bit! Combine the peanut butter, honey, and cinnamon into the tub of Greek yogurt for a delicious apple dip!

Pumpkin Dip
Ingredients:
1 tub of low-fat cool whip
Half a can of pumpkin
1 packet of instant vanilla pudding mix

Combine the cool whip, pumpkin, and instant vanilla pudding mix and serve with cinnamon graham cracker sticks! I took this treat, along with the pumpkin muffins, to my Community Group with Apostles church. I love the flavors of Fall!

What’s going on in your kitchen these days? Any recommendations or Fall favorites?

2 thoughts on “Flavors of Fall

  1. Oh I love this! Yummm. I’m going to make those muffins, but the recipe I have is identical (completely identical!) and makes cookies. Hmm…?
    I’m also making pumpkin-cream cheese cupcakes + chocolate chip pumpkin bars this weekend! I’m going to make treat bags with the pumpkin bars (along with gift tags that I made that read “Give Thanks”) for friends, etc around town!

Leave a Reply

