Truth

Such a beautifully worded promise from God to the Jews at a time in history when people were trying to rely on other gods for happiness and salvation. Maybe things haven’t changed all that much across the millennia.

But this promise reassures me that God alone will take care of Rob and me as we face a huge transition in our life and the fears that naturally accompany it: missing NYC, making Charlottesville home for 2 years, forming new friend relationships, finding a great church home, handling the heavy academic work load, landing just the right full-time job for B, budgeting on a significantly smaller income, figuring out moving logistics, making quality time for each other, dealing with the pressures of being an MBA candidate, pursuing the right/best career path for our future, maintaining priorities, etc.

However, the verbs God uses here are quite powerful: carry, sustain, rescue. He’s going to take care of us; we’re in good hands. Breathing a sigh of relief and gratefulness this morning…

Even to your old age and gray hairs I am he, I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you. “To whom will you compare me or count me equal? To whom will you liken me that we may be compared? Some pour out gold from their bags and weigh out silver on the scales; they hire a goldsmith to make it into a god, and they bow down and worship it.  They lift it to their shoulders and carry it; they set it up in its place, and there it stands. From that spot it cannot move. Though one cries out to it, it does not answer; it cannot save him from his troubles. “Remember this, fix it in mind, take it to heart, you rebels.  Remember the former things, those of long ago; I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me.” -Isaiah 46:4-9

Leave a Reply

